top of page

Elected Officials

The Mayor is elected at-large on a non-partisan basis for a two-year term. Four City Council Members are elected from wards on a non-partisan basis for four-year staggered terms. A professional City Manager is employed by the Mayor and City Council to administer the day-to-day operation of the City. A team of seven department heads assists the City Manager in the operation of the City.

The City Council meets in regular session the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Cherryville Community Building and meets in Work Session the last Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Cherryville Fire Department. For more information about City Council meetings, contact the City Clerk at (704) 435-1709.


H.L. Beam

Mayor (Term 2023-2025)

404 Spring Street, P. O. Box 207, Cherryville, NC  28021
H:  704-435-3492 | M:  276-206-5566 | O:  704-435-1714


Gary Freeman

Councilmember | Ward 1 (Term 2021-2025)

609 E. Academy Street, Cherryville, NC  28021
H:  704-435-2957 | M:  704-718-3103

John Abernethy.jpg

Jon Abernethy

Councilmember | Ward 2 (Term 2023-2027)

1202 Westgate Drive, Cherryville, NC  28021
M:  704-740-6034

Jill P. Puett.jpg

Jill P. Puett

Councilmember | Ward 3 (Term 2021-2025)

2041 Eaker Drive, Cherryville, NC  28021
H:  704-435-2490 | M:  704-842-4804


Janice Hovis

Councilmember | Ward 4 (Term 2023-2027)

703 Vista Drive, Cherryville, NC 28021
M:  704-747-7673

bottom of page